Speaking of Writing (Update? 3-ish?)

So, there is a blog post draft that’s been sitting here on wordpress for about a month. A little over, actually. It’s the first installment of the Walking With Demons story I promised I would do but never actually did. The draft isn’t even done, actually. It’s three and a half pages of the twenty I wanted to do. I have the bare bones (more like a rough drawing of the bare bones and a pile of marrow), but no flesh. So, I’m sort of sidestepping that. It’s a project I still want to do but life and other things are populating my mind, so it’s going on the back burner.

However, that book thing I’m writing did eventually get done. By ‘done’ I mean that I had to just, stop. It’s in a place I can sort of be proud of, but I doubt I’ll ever feel it’s well and truly done. But isn’t that part of being an author? That feeling that your work is never, actually finished. That words are trying to escape your head. Or perhaps it’s an indication that I need to take a step back and let it sit.

So, that’s what I’ve done. Sometime, prolly soon, I’ll throw the first chapter on here for your enjoyment. Otherwise, off to my editing minions it goes. And I sit and… well, find someplace to put all those pesky words that keep trying to get out of my head. Oh, look, a place.

Introducing: There Will be Dragons

New project. It’s something that has been on my mind for a few months. I’ve done so much worldbuilding in my book that a few other, mostly unrelated stories have percolated into my brain. But I want to deliver on that promise to post a regular story to the blog, because it provides motivation.

Therefore, one of two things will happen (or perhaps one, then the other). One, I could post regular sized chapters every week or two until the story is done. Two, I write for one or two weeks then post whatever I have. The first provides more structure but it’s also a lot harder, so we’ll see.

For now, as an ultimatum, I will have the first installment (I will shy away from the word ‘chapter’) by Wednesday the 19th. If it’s a whole chapter, awesome. If it’s just a chunk, well, we’ll get there. The point is that I can get writing and get that writing out.

For now, go write. It’s good for you.

Leave a Reply

